Public Document Pack

THIS SET OF MINUTES IS NOT SUBJECT TO "CALL-IN"

COUNCIL

MEETING HELD AT THE TOWN HALL, BOOTLE ON 18 MAY 2021

PRESENT: Councillor Burns (in the Chair)

Councillors Bennett, Bradshaw, Brough, Carragher, Cluskey, Cummins, Evans, Fairclough, Grace, Hansen, John Kelly, John Joseph Kelly, Ian Maher, Marria O'Brian Bugh, Spanger and Voidman

Morris, O'Brien, Pugh, Spencer and Veidman

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Atkinson, Blackburne, Brennan, Brodie-Browne, Byrom, Carlin, Carr, Corcoran, D'alberquerque, Dodd, Dowd, Doyle, Dutton, Friel, Halsall, Hardy, Howard, Irving, Jones, Sonya Kelly, Killen, Lappin, Lewis, Christine Maher, McGinnity, McKinley, Moncur, Murphy, Myers, Page, Prendergast, Riley, Robinson, Roche, Roscoe, Sathiy, John Sayers, Yvonne Sayers, Shaw, Thomas, Anne Thompson, Lynne Thompson, Tweed, Waterfield, Sir Ron Watson, Webster and Wilson.

(Due to COVID restrictions the Council was required to hold the meeting with a politically balanced quorum of Members present and so the Members listed above were asked to submit their apologies for this Meeting to ensure that Government guidelines were adhered to)

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of any disclosable pecuniary interests or personal interests were received.

3. ELECTION OF MAYOR FOR 2021/22

It was moved by Councillor Ian Maher, seconded by Councillor John Joseph Kelly and unanimously

RESOLVED:

That Clare Louise Carragher, a Councillor of the Borough, be elected Mayor of the Borough for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of office by her successor.

Councillor Clare Louise Carragher took the Chair at this point in the meeting

4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIR FOR 2021/22

It was moved by Councillor Maher, seconded by Councillor Fairclough and unanimously

RESOLVED:

That June Burns, a Councillor of the Borough, be elected Deputy Chair of the Borough for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of office by his successor.

5. VOTE OF THANKS FOR RETIRING MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor Maher, seconded by Councillor Fairclough and unanimously

RESOLVED: That

- (1) the Council do hereby place on record its appreciation of the ability, courtesy and impartiality, shown by Councillor June Burns in her capacity as Mayor of the Borough and Chair of the meetings of the Council, during the Municipal Years 2019/20 and 2020/21, and for her attendance at many civic and public functions, both inside and outside of the Borough;
- (2) the Council also desires to extend its thanks to Mr Paul O'Brien for his support and encouragement given to the Mayor;
- (3) the Council wishes to record its appreciation of the excellent effort and involvement by both Councillor Burns and Mr O'Brien, in connection with the Mayor of Sefton's Charity Fund;
- (4) the Council further desires to extend its sincere thanks to Councillor Burns and Mr O'Brien for the hospitality extended to Royal Visits, Overseas Visitors and Civic Dignitaries hosted by this Borough; and
- (5) a copy of these Resolutions be passed under the Corporate Seal and presented to Councillor Burns.

Councillor Burns was then presented with a framed copy of the Vote of Thanks as a token of the Council's appreciation of the manner in which she and Mr Paul O'Brien had undertaken their duties in the Office of Mayor during the past twenty-four months.

Councillor Burns responded to the Vote of Thanks and expressed her appreciation to her Consort, Mr Paul O'Brien, the members of the public, various organisations and Council officers who had supported her during her Term of Office.

6. ADJOURNMENT OF MEETING

It was moved by Councillor Maher, seconded by Councillor Fairclough and RESOLVED

That the meeting be adjourned and the Council re-convene on Thursday, 20 May 2021 at 6.30 pm at the Golden Miller Suite, Aintree Race Course.

